It Still Isn’t Easy

1

July 7, 2013 by mybattlebuddyfitness

Image

It’s Sunday.  I woke up at 7am, desperately wanting to stay in bed for a couple more hours, loaf around the house, watch TV, basically be a couch potato.  I contemplated brunch, thinking it would be so awesome to go to The Orange Table (a local place here in Phoenix) and have French Toast or Chocolate Chip Banana Pancakes with bacon and hash browns.  Then maybe head over to the pool, soak up the sun until the later hours of the afternoon, and then meet up with friends and go to my favorite Mexican food place and have chicken enchiladas with lots of cheese.  That was my dream day.

But instead, I rolled out of bed, begrudgingly put on my workout clothes, and headed off to the gym for my cross-training workout.  After getting my sweat on for 45 minutes, I came home, showered up, and met a friend for breakfast, where I had an egg white scramble with vegetables and hot sauce.  Then back home to plan my menus for the week.  Later on I’ll be headed back to the gym to workout with a friend who would like a buddy, and then together we’ll make a healthy recipe for her family for dinner.

It isn’t like I was born differently than anyone else.  It isn’t like I don’t WANT to eat those awesome sugary / fatty foods, because I love them.  I wish I could say that eventually, you don’t want the processed foods, that you don’t want to drink, that you don’t want to eat cakes or pies, that pizza isn’t calling your name late at night.  It isn’t like I think the gym is the greatest place on the planet, because I can always think of about a dozen other places I would rather be or things I would rather be doing.  I’ve been at this in earnest for about 5 years, and let me let you in on a little secret: it still isn’t easy.

True, I have formed the right habits that make staying healthy easier.  I have put the right things into place that keep me from making bad decisions when it comes to food and exercise.  I have figured out that if I am going to go to the gym, the best way to make that happen is to do I first thing in the morning.  I have learned that I need lots of smaller meals vs. 2-3 big meals.  I have trained my brain to believe that dairy is not good for me (which it isn’t), that sugar is not good for me (also true), that fatty fried foods are not good for me.  I have learned to push down the cravings so they are like a drip drip drip into the sink vs. a full stream.

I think that people think that when you make choices about living a healthy lifestyle that you become some sort of super human.  Able to leap over tall buildings with a single bound, or able to magically reject cakes and pies with no problem at all.  But, sadly, it isn’t like that.  I still crave, just like everyone else.  I do want all of those bad for you foods from time to time.  I still wish I could eat without having to track what I eat in MyFitnessPal, but every time I give up on it for any amount of time, I gain weight.

So if it seems hard, I can tell you, it is hard.  You are not alone in feeling this way.  You’ve had years, decades even of eating a certain way with a certain level of exercise.  It isn’t like you can just undo that overnight.  It takes time, and it will still be hard, even years from now.  But sticking with it, well, you’ll feel so much better, and you will probably live a better, healthier life.

Keep at it.  Fight YOUR battle!

One thought on “It Still Isn’t Easy

  1. Coral Polyp says:

    I used to find it hard to resist temptations. Now if I eat any kind of junk food, I get depressed. So I don’t eat junk anymore. But what is wrong with consuming dairy products?

Leave a Reply

Inspired by the Bike

From the shop at Bicyclette.com

TJ Hoban

Official T.J. Hoban blog

The Dolce Vita Diaries

Stories and Recipes from an Italian olive grove

LeadWise Solutions

Making health and wellness a way of life for our American military and their families

Summer Tomato

Healthy Eating Tips

Positively Balanced: Blog

Making health and wellness a way of life for our American military and their families

Making health and wellness a way of life for our American military and their families

Live fit, healthy & happy!

a motivational fitness and health blog for happy gals!

Nika Getting Fit

A Weight Loss Journey In Progress.

