Accentuate the Positive

2

June 16, 2013 by mybattlebuddyfitness

Image

I always struggle to give myself the old pat on the back, the hey, you are pretty darn awesome, bask in your own personal glory for a little while.  I feel like I am always looking at myself and saying, “You could do this better” or “You need to improve upon this” or “If only you could get to that weight or that level of fitness, then you’d be set”.  I’m hard on myself, plain and simple.  And when I slip up, I beat myself up.  I have a couple of days where I just cannot bring myself to cook, and I shame myself.  I consume more fruits and nuts than I should, and I shame myself.  I have a couple of drinks, and I shame myself. 

 

Which doesn’t really give me any credit for how far I have come.  Or how far you have come.  We all make strides, some little, and some big.  But we keep moving forward, and even when we take that step back, we are moving.  When was the last time you celebrated a big health / wellness accomplishment?  Not some major huge accomplishment / milestone, but something trivial.  Like the day you were able to improve your run time by 5 seconds, or when you lost one pound, or when you could fit into that pair of pants where the button was just a bit too tight.  When was the last time you were proud of yourself for making the right decision?  Like the day you didn’t eat the tortilla chips when you went to the Mexican restaurant, or when you got the kiddie scoop vs. the normal scoop of ice cream, or when you chose the fish over the fried chicken?   

 

By celebrate, I don’t mean a party, I don’t mean going out and undoing all of that hard work you have put into your life.  But I mean celebrate it in your heart.  Say to yourself “Dude, I RULE!” or “Yep, I am pretty awesome” or “Yay for me”.  Whatever will make you feel good, put a smile into your heart.  Because those big milestones, they happen few and far between my friends.  But the little ones, well, they happen all the time.  You just have to look for them, and then acknowledge them. 

 

Now, I personally SUCK at this by the way.  It doesn’t come naturally to me at all.  So I have to work at it.  I have to try to be nicer to myself, kinder to myself, and celebrate myself.  No one else is going to do it for me.  Sure, people will celebrate WITH you, but out of the blue, no one is going to throw you a party for dropping a pound.  You have to do that for yourself.  And celebrating those smaller victories is what will get you through to your major victories. 

 

So what do I do for myself?  Well, sometimes, I will find a new lotion that smells great, or get some of that sugar scrub for the shower.  I’ll do a long bath in the winter.  Or buy a new workout shirt.  I’ll give myself permission to do something not on the schedule for the gym (say a kickboxing class, or going for a hike).  There are dozens of ways to celebrate. 

 

What’s yours?

2 thoughts on “Accentuate the Positive

  1. Matt Dionis says:

    Great post! That’s one reason I love fitness tracking tools like FitBit, Nike+, etc. You can clearly see when you’ve beat your old mile time by a few seconds, or burned the most calories in a day. Those are real good feelings. They also motivate you to continue striving toward even bigger and better goals!

  2. Thank you for this post. I’ve been beating myself up today because I fell off track. This was just what I needed.

Leave a Reply

Inspired by the Bike

From the shop at Bicyclette.com

TJ Hoban

Official T.J. Hoban blog

The Dolce Vita Diaries

Stories and Recipes from an Italian olive grove

LeadWise Solutions

Making health and wellness a way of life for our American military and their families

Summer Tomato

Healthy Eating Tips

Positively Balanced: Blog

Making health and wellness a way of life for our American military and their families

Making health and wellness a way of life for our American military and their families

Live fit, healthy & happy!

a motivational fitness and health blog for happy gals!

Nika Getting Fit

A Weight Loss Journey In Progress.

