I Challenge YOU…to a Challenge!

2

June 5, 2013 by mybattlebuddyfitness

7 day challenge 2

written by Elisabeth Meany

Alright guys…I need your help. I’m in a rut. It’s been 4 and 1/2 weeks since the figure competition, and I’m having some serious difficulty finding my motivation. I’m burnt out. I didn’t think it could ever happen, but it did. Admittedly, my nutritional choices have not been the best in the last month and I am feeling the effects. Funny thing though, I just can’t seem to shake those cravings for all the bad stuff. All the stuff that I KNOW is going to make me feel like crap.

I pass the snack cupboard in the kitchen (the one that I didn’t LOOK at for 12 whole weeks – the one that I have deemed “my husband’s cupboard,” but in truth, it’s where I hide MY devilish little snacks) and can’t help but opening it and grabbing a handful of whatever looks good. Damn those Late July brand flax tortilla chips; curses to my new dehydrator and the AMAZING crackers I’ve learned to make; oh, and let’s not forget the graham crackers and occasional Hershey chocolate bar (what’s happening, people?!) I’m still exercising everyday, but it’s more out of obligation than anything else.

I want my mojo back, and I know that there have to be many of you out there that are feeling the same way. I mean, here we are, “swimsuit season” is upon us – it should be our time to shine, right? Well, I’ve got some serious June blues. The only way I know how to bust a rut is to give myself a challenge. I’m stubborn, so once I flip the switch, I’m on track, but I have a feeling I will need some help on this one.

So, what’s the challenge?

THE CHALLENGE IS SIMPLE: Let’s commit to eating NOTHING out of a package for 7 days, and getting in 60 minutes of exercise everyday for 7 days. The exercise doesn’t have to be high-intensity; walk, jog, elliptical, Zumba, hike – do whatever it is that you want to – just move that body for 60 minutes each day. And what do I mean when I say nothing out of a package? I mean nothing with added sugar, sodium, or with ingredients that you can’t recognize or pronounce. Let’s focus on fueling our bodies with whole, natural foods. This means no protein bars, no pre-made cereals, granolas, cookies, or crackers. I am personally going to refrain from grains, dairy, and fruit as well only because I know that I need to totally detox myself from sugar in order to reset myself. The general rule of thumb I follow is this: if I am unsure about whether or not it’s a good idea for me to eat something, I don’t eat it.

Yes, this challenge is going to mean a bit of extra time in the kitchen preparing meals ahead of time. It’s going to mean avoiding those center aisles in the grocery store. But the good news is this: it’s summertime! Which means that you probably have local farmer’s markets where you can buy amazing produce (we’ve got them here in Pulaski County, which means that I KNOW you can find one in your area). Focus on lean meats for your protein and filling your plate with delicious fruits and veggies. Don’t be afraid to try something new! Eating clean doesn’t mean eating boring. I’ve recently discovered Whole Living magazine which features WONDERFUL recipes that are made up of only whole, natural foods. If you are looking for some great things to serve up during this 7 day challenge, head to their website. I get overwhelmed looking at all of the amazing recipes!

I’m hoping that some of you out there will join me on this challenge. I think this is exactly what I need to reset myself and find my mojo again. So, let’s commit to 7 days of treating our bodies right! What do you say? Who’s with me?!

If you have any questions about what’s in and what’s out during these 7 days, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

I’m off to the kitchen to prepare a spinach and sundried tomato frittata. Now doesn’t that sound delicious?!

2 thoughts on “I Challenge YOU…to a Challenge!

  1. j! ayson says:

    I feel like I’ve fallen into a bit of a rut with my eating too.. so this is a great challenge!

  2. jsresults says:

    Let’s DO THIS! Whole Foods All day every day! Post Comp…. Pre DOMINATION!

Leave a Reply

Inspired by the Bike

From the shop at Bicyclette.com

TJ Hoban

Official T.J. Hoban blog

The Dolce Vita Diaries

Stories and Recipes from an Italian olive grove

LeadWise Solutions

Making health and wellness a way of life for our American military and their families

Summer Tomato

Healthy Eating Tips

Positively Balanced: Blog

Making health and wellness a way of life for our American military and their families

Making health and wellness a way of life for our American military and their families

Live fit, healthy & happy!

a motivational fitness and health blog for happy gals!

Nika Getting Fit

A Weight Loss Journey In Progress.

