Take a Vacation at Home…With a Good Book

4

March 14, 2013 by mybattlebuddyfitness

good book

 

written by Melissa Eisner

 

What I’m Reading Right Now

 

I know, we all lead busy lives.  We have work, and kids, and pets, and exercise, and cooking, and school . . . the list goes on and on.  On top of that, now you want me to read?

 

Yes, I do.  Reading is a great way to break away from the here and now, and either learn something new, or find new recipes, or understand more about the world around you.  No one is saying you have to read a 1000+ page novel, and certainly not in one sitting.  I try to squeeze in 10 to 15 minutes here and there.  And some things, like blogs and magazines, they are designed to be read in smaller chunks.

 

So, some interesting things that are sitting on my desk as I write this blog post:

 

Thrive – The Vegan Nutrition Guide to Optimal Performance in Sports and Life – Brendan Braiser

Not meant for everyone, but a really interesting read even if you are not thinking about going vegan.  It gives some context around why going vegan as an athlete can be beneficial, how you need to structure eating if you are thinking of going vegan and maintaining an active lifestyle, and as a bonus, amazing recipes for homemade protein bars and shakes, plus other yummy treats!

 

Salt, Sugar, Fat – Michael Moss

So I have just started reading this book, I heard all about it on NPR, MSNBC, and the Huffington Post and I just had to run out and buy it (or get it sent to me via Amazon.com).  I am only a chapter into this book and I am hooked.  I fall asleep with it in my lap at night, and even though I can only get through 3-4 pages before nodding off, it is great.  It talks all about how the food industry is creating food addicts out of all of us with their food formulations.

 

Flipboard – Smartphone app

I am addicted to Flipboard.  It is my go to app for news, business, technology, fitness, recipes, the list goes on and on.  You create an account, and then tell it what you want to read about by category.  Then it pulls all the articles from the web that are related to your content areas.  It is a great way to get the headlines and first couple of lines from major articles on what you care about, and then you can drill in for more details.  LOVE IT!

 

Tartine – Elisabeth M. Prueitt and Chad Robertson

Not everything has to be healthy.  I love to bake.  Crazy, but true.  I have a pretty strong sense of will power, so I don’t eat everything I make.  But I am a good baker (some consider me a master baker), and I just can’t help myself.  This cookbook contains the recipes from one of my all-time favorite bakeries, Tartine in San Francisco.  The lemon cream tart is out of this world.  And the tres leches?  Amazing.  I want to bake everything in this cookbook.  For a cheat day, this is the way to go.

 

Inside of a Dog: What Dogs See, Smell, and Know – Alexnadra Horowitz

I am fostering a dog right now, after years of on and off dog ownership.  I would love to own a dog again someday, but right now, it just isn’t possible.  So I foster, which is a great way to help dogs in need as well as getting a furry animal around the house.  I saw this book on the shelves in a bookstore in an airport, and couldn’t resist.  It talks all about how dogs … see, smell, and know (duh).  I am fascinated.  I now understand what they get from smelling us that we don’t even recognize (they can tell where we have been, what we have eaten, etc.).

 

Runners World – Magazine

This is a love hate relationship.  It is not one of those magazines I read where I love every article, or agree with everything.  And sometimes the advice can be overwhelming.  So you have to take this one in doses.  It is great for daydreaming about races I would love to run, maybe not this year, but sometime in the future.  They also do great reviews of equipment & fuel (like which energy bites taste the best or which shoes this spring got the best updates).

 

There are a stack of other books on my desktop that I use as guides for cooking in the kitchen, and in that rotation right now are: The Best of Clean Eating, Vegan Yum Yum, The Homemade Pantry, and The Indian Slow Cooker. 

 

I’d love to know what you are reading right now, for inspiration, for food, for health.  Please share with us!

4 thoughts on “Take a Vacation at Home…With a Good Book

  1. Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just too magnificent.
    I actually like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you are saying and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it wise. I can’t
    wait to read much more from you. This is actually a terrific site.

  2. Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your post seem to be running off the screen in Firefox.
    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know.
    The style and design look great though! Hope you get the issue resolved soon.
    Many thanks

  3. Howdy! I just discovered your web page: Take a Vacation at HomeWith a Good Book | My Battle Buddy Fitness when I was searching delicious.
    com. It looks as though someone liked your blog so much they decided to bookmark
    it. I’ll absolutely be coming here more often.

  4. I blog frequently and I genuinely appreciate your content.
    Your article has truly peaked my interest. I am going to book mark your
    website and keep checking for new information about once a week.

    I subscribed to your Feed too.

Leave a Reply

Inspired by the Bike

From the shop at Bicyclette.com

TJ Hoban

Official T.J. Hoban blog

The Dolce Vita Diaries

Stories and Recipes from an Italian olive grove

LeadWise Solutions

Making health and wellness a way of life for our American military and their families

Summer Tomato

Healthy Eating Tips

Positively Balanced: Blog

Making health and wellness a way of life for our American military and their families

Making health and wellness a way of life for our American military and their families

Live fit, healthy & happy!

a motivational fitness and health blog for happy gals!

Nika Getting Fit

A Weight Loss Journey In Progress.

