Road to the Emerald Cup – Week # 2 Update

2

February 27, 2013 by mybattlebuddyfitness

Week #2 Emerald Cup update

Picture it: here I am standing in front of the refrigerator. It’s 9pm and it’s been about 3 hours since I had my last serving of meat, which means it’s just about feeding time again. But I’ve already eaten my allotted amount of carbohydrates for the day, which means…ugh. More protein?! Why did I even bother opening the refrigerator?! I measure my scoops of Creamy Vanilla Isopure into my shaker bottle, add a little cinnamon (I know, I know, it sounds so decadent, doesn’t it?) and drink it down.

This past week has been very interesting for several reasons. I woke up feeling sick last Wednesday and have had a lingering sore throat and general congestion ever since. It’s only been another minor challenge in this adventure. I took it fairly easy on myself for a good chunk of last week, focusing mostly on weight training and light cardio. While I think I did what my body could handle, it definitely gave me anxiety—wondering if I was just “wasting precious time.”

I think that I have finally accepted that this will be my life for the next 9 ½ weeks. That first week was kind of a “honeymoon” period—I was excited about heavy weight training again and I wasn’t that hungry yet. This week the hunger set in. My body is starting to eat up its fat stores (which is good) but it means that I want to eat more than 4 oz. of ground turkey breast and roasted green beans in one sitting! I will admit, I was kind of angry for a good chunk of this week. I’m past the point where I want a cookie or a burrito—those things don’t even look good to me because I have told myself those aren’t part of the plan. Right now I’m in a phase where I’m just sort of grumpy, especially in the evenings.

Even when I’m not in competition phase, I eat really well about 80-90% of the time. I guess I just never realized how much I look forward to that other 10% of the time. On Monday morning, when I am questioning whether or not to go 10 extra minutes on the treadmill, I remind myself that Friday evening will be here soon enough and that helps push me through. I look forward to delicious food and an alcoholic beverage after a long week of working hard. Now I have taken that reward system away from myself, and it has made me grumpy. Period.

I’m not at a point yet where I’ve seen dramatic changes to my body. Eventually, the changes will be the new reward system, but I’m not quite there yet. I’m seeing changes, but they are subtle at this point. I’m definitely FEELING different during my workouts. My interval running is getting faster and I am feeling lighter. I have been able to increase my weights every week, and I am less and less sore as the days go by. I’m trying to be patient and not spend a lot of time in front of the mirror thinking about what needs to change.

Besides feeling a bit grumpy, my only other complaint is this: while I am always on a quest to be as fit and healthy as I can be, I really focus on finding balance along the way. I will be the first to admit that there isn’t a whole lot of balance right now. If I’m not working out, I’m either PLANNING my own workout or a client’s workout. If I’m not in the kitchen preparing my food, I’m either THINKING about food or I’m at the grocery store buying the food (I’ve never gone through meat and vegetables so quickly in all my life). If I’m not drinking water, I am thinking about how I should be drinking more water. ALL of my physical energy is going into this right now, and most of my mental and emotional energy is wrapped up in it too. I’m prepared for it to get worse before it gets better.

I knew I had officially crossed over to the crazy side of life when my husband suggested that we make homemade chicken noodle soup when I was sick last week. I said, “No.” He said, “Okay. How about chicken soup without the noodles?” I said, “No.” He looked at me puzzled and I replied, “I shouldn’t eat carrots, onions, and celery all at the same time…too many carbs.” He just shook his head. Before you commit me to the asylum, let me say that I do REALIZE how crazy that sounds…I will remind you readers and myself that this isn’t a lifestyle I am adopting here—this is just a short-term phase.

So, that’s been the major challenge this week—realizing that there isn’t a lot balance in my life right now, and trying to find ways to keep it somewhat balanced. Lucky for me, I am living in a town where there truly isn’t much to do except work out and spend time with your family. Plus, we’ve been snowed in for a good week now, which makes living like a Spartan (wake-up, go to gym, eat food, train clients, go to gym, eat food, sleep, repeat) that much easier. In addition, with my husband’s crazy work hours, it means that I spend a lot of time with my dog—which is exactly what I need right now. I still get to snuggle up with my love at night, but I don’t have to feel guilty about sacrificing time together for the gym.

All in all, things aren’t bad here. Thanks for listening to my rambles this week. ‘Til next week…

Be well my friends!

2 thoughts on “Road to the Emerald Cup – Week # 2 Update

  1. jsresults says:

    Ahhhh the glory of contest prep lol. I literally just read your 6th paragraph to my mother and she asked me if I had written it for you LOL. All of this sounds oddly familiar right about now. Keep fighting! Your doing awesome 🙂

  2. Oh man, that makes me feel better! Just knowing that there are others out there who have experienced the same emotions.
    Thank you so much for the encouragement. Every once in a while I ask myself, “Wait…WHY am I doing this again?” Every little bit of virtual cheering helps!

Leave a Reply

Inspired by the Bike

From the shop at Bicyclette.com

TJ Hoban

Official T.J. Hoban blog

The Dolce Vita Diaries

Stories and Recipes from an Italian olive grove

LeadWise Solutions

Making health and wellness a way of life for our American military and their families

Summer Tomato

Healthy Eating Tips

Positively Balanced: Blog

Making health and wellness a way of life for our American military and their families

Making health and wellness a way of life for our American military and their families

Live fit, healthy & happy!

a motivational fitness and health blog for happy gals!

Nika Getting Fit

A Weight Loss Journey In Progress.

