Road to the Emerald Cup – Week #1 Update

4

February 19, 2013 by mybattlebuddyfitness

Emerald Cup Week 1 Update

 

It’s been 10 days since I officially started my competition preparations for the Emerald Cup on May 3rd. The week has certainly had its highs and lows, but overall, I feel pretty good about the way things are going.

I really couldn’t be happier with the way my workouts went this week. I got back to lifting heavy weights, which was rough the first couple of days. I can’t remember the last time I was so sore, but it was nice. I got frustrated with myself a few times because I felt like I could have lifted a little heavier on certain exercises, but my forearms and grip strength had weakened a bit, so I was somewhat limited. I forgot how tired I get after a good workout of heavy lifting! I had to squeeze in a few catnaps in between my workouts, training sessions, and schoolwork to survive.

I’m not quite used to limiting my cardio—that’s a new one for me. I don’t want to kick in with the major cardio time until I absolutely have to – I would like to see what kind of fat my body will drop without spending hours on the treadmill. I went to a 90-minute spin class on Saturday and when the instructor asked if anyone wanted to do a 3-mile run with her after class, I had to bite my tongue and not raise my hand. That’s normally just the kind of thing I would be into…but I can’t risk losing any of the precious muscle that I’m building right now  🙂

My diet could have been better. This is the area where I need the most improvement. As I write this post, I am still feeling bad because I ate some candy over the weekend that came in a care package from my momma. I told myself I was just going to send it straight to work with my husband, but I saw that there were Hot Tamales in the candy mix! I LOVE hot tamales. I ate some hot tamales…and then I ate a few pieces of licorice…and some Sweetarts…and 5 Hershey’s kisses! Uh-oh…damn! I don’t know what happened there. It just goes to show me that if it’s in the house, I WILL eat it.

I need to get used to eating such small portions at one time. It’s been a long time since I made myself meticulously measure all the food I eat (it’s just NOT the way I prefer to live my life), and I forgot just how little ½ cup of anything is! I’m trying to stress about it too much, but I know that 11 weeks is a short amount of time to play with, so I’ve gotta be pretty diligent.

I’m in the process of picking out my suit…YIKES! I can’t decide on color, fabric, or cut. It’s a tough choice. I mean how do you choose something that you know you’ll never be comfortable in, regardless of the cut and color of the fabric? Oh well, it’s all part of the experience I suppose.

I’m already nervous and have been battling the voices in my head that keep telling me that it’s a dumb idea, and that I won’t do well…I’m trying to drown them out with hard work.

Anxious to see what challenges this next week will bring…

Until next time-
Elisabeth

4 thoughts on “Road to the Emerald Cup – Week #1 Update

  1. jsresults says:

    Exciting post! I love hearing the thoughts while on the journey to a show! I’m in contest prep as well and I went through alot of the same thoughts. Measuring everything and weighing everything STINKS! But it pays off so just need to keep going. Best of luck and I will certainly stay posted!

    • Thanks so much for the encouragement and kind words…
      It’s so nice to know that I’ve got people rooting for me from afar!
      And yes, the measuring and weighing is KILLER! Sometimes I’m like, “REALLY? That’s all I get?!” Haha. Good times…

  2. NANA says:

    Elisabeth Jean….No matter how you place in this competition you should be very proud of yourself for even attempting this! You are AMAZING!

Leave a Reply

Inspired by the Bike

From the shop at Bicyclette.com

TJ Hoban

Official T.J. Hoban blog

The Dolce Vita Diaries

Stories and Recipes from an Italian olive grove

LeadWise Solutions

Making health and wellness a way of life for our American military and their families

Summer Tomato

Healthy Eating Tips

Positively Balanced: Blog

Making health and wellness a way of life for our American military and their families

Making health and wellness a way of life for our American military and their families

Live fit, healthy & happy!

a motivational fitness and health blog for happy gals!

Nika Getting Fit

A Weight Loss Journey In Progress.

