Here Goes Nothin’!

4

February 11, 2013 by mybattlebuddyfitness

Here Goes Nothin'

Friday, February 8, 2013 meant that I was exactly 12 weeks away from my very first figure competition. That’s right. On the morning of May 3rd, I will be in Seattle, WA at the Emerald Cup—anxiously waiting to strut across stage in a glittery suit… Just writing that on paper is a bit of a scary thing. Competing in a figure competition is something that has always been on my “bucket list.” Six years ago I discovered Oxygen Magazine, and I immediately thought to myself, “THAT’S what I want to look like.” The super skinny bodies of runway fashion models have never appealed to me, partially because I was never delusional enough to think that it was a body-type I could achieve, but mostly because I don’t look at those women and think of health and happiness like I do when I see a fitness model. My first thought when I see runway models is usually, “cheeseburger…somebody give that girl a cheeseburger, STAT.” As always, I digress.

I inherited my father’s genes in the body department—short, prone to storing extra body fat, and able to build muscle really quickly. I guess when I saw that cover of Oxygen, I recognized it was a look that with some really hard work, would be possible for me to achieve. I recognized that in order to achieve those perfectly defined abs, it would take extreme discipline and hard work. There would be no delicious cookies before bedtime, homemade pizza, or Belgian beers…Just a lot of meat and veggies and extra sweat-time in the gym.

There’s something in my DNA that makes me crave an athletic challenge. I was a competitive gymnast for many of my formative years, and I can remember being the only kid who liked the strength and conditioning portion of our daily workouts. Of course I never said this out loud, because as a child, that’s the kind of thing that will earn you a lonely bus ride, and I was perfectly aware of this. While many of the other girls whimpered and whined during our sessions of endless pull-ups, V-ups, and handstand push-ups, I gritted my teeth and watched the sweat roll off me and hit the floor. So perhaps I have always been suited for this kind of challenge, though it certainly doesn’t make it any less frightening.

I know how to work out, I know how to eat right, and I know how to safely lower my body fat percentage…But THIS is a whole new ball game. I have never had a reason to take my body fat percentage below 13%, so while I know I can do it, I just wonder exactly how hard it will be for me. I love throwing heavy weights around in the gym, but now I have to throw some REALLY heavy weights around. Admittedly, I haven’t lifted heavy for about a year now and I have finally started to enjoy my “girly” workouts that usually consist of a lot of step-ups and shoulder raises (thank you, Eddie Tobes!). The idea of stepping on a stage in sparkly suit that leaves VERY little to the imagination, and flexing my overly-spray-tanned and greased-up muscles is terrifying…TERRIFYING! But I’m going to do it.

Why? I’m still not totally sure what it is about me that always wants to take things just a step further, but for the next 12 weeks I’m going to embrace this quality. I’m going to step outside of my comfort zone (on EVERY level) and see what happens. I figure the worst case scenario is that I get up there and trip in those ridiculously high heels…or I pass out from nerves under the bright lights…or I place dead last. While all of those things are undesirable outcomes, none of them would mean the end of the world.

Stay tuned. I intend on blogging about every step of this journey as it’s guaranteed to be wildly entertaining.

HERE GOES NOTHIN’!

xoxoxoxo

Elisabeth

4 thoughts on “Here Goes Nothin’!

  1. Melanie Bowen says:

    Hello,

    I have a question about your blog, could you please email me? Thanks!!

    Melanie

  2. jsresults says:

    Awesome mentality! Love the attitude! Keep kicking butt 🙂

Leave a Reply

Inspired by the Bike

From the shop at Bicyclette.com

TJ Hoban

Official T.J. Hoban blog

The Dolce Vita Diaries

Stories and Recipes from an Italian olive grove

LeadWise Solutions

Making health and wellness a way of life for our American military and their families

Summer Tomato

Healthy Eating Tips

Positively Balanced: Blog

Making health and wellness a way of life for our American military and their families

Making health and wellness a way of life for our American military and their families

Live fit, healthy & happy!

a motivational fitness and health blog for happy gals!

Nika Getting Fit

A Weight Loss Journey In Progress.

