Instant Gratification…Worth it? Nope!

1

February 6, 2013 by mybattlebuddyfitness

Eisner Noodles

 

Today marks day one of my own personal detox.  In general, I stick to the healthy side of life, I try to keep vegan for the most part, but last week, I decided to fall off the wagon a bit since I knew that I was going to change my diet radically starting this week.  See, Elisabeth has 3 months before she enters a fitness competition.  She’s a bit isolated here in Missouri, and it isn’t like her husband is going to change his diet just because she needs to get down to less than 10% body fat (and that is no joke! Never in my wildest dreams could I even conceive of getting down to such a low percentage.  Kudos to her!)  So I figure as a show of solidarity I am going to give up what she has to give up for the next 3 months from a food perspective.  What does that mean?  Right now, it means no sugar, no carbs, and no booze.  Now the sugar and carbs, yeah, that would be tough but doable for sure, especially for such a short amount of time, but no booze!  That’s the kicker.

 

Anyway, it has been a long day today.  I know, you figure since I am into this whole fitness / healthy living business that this comes easily and naturally to me.  But it doesn’t.  It is HARD.  You get so conditioned to wanting certain foods, because they are filling or they make you feel happy.  And not that I want a ton of ridiculous things, but for breakfast, I would have loved a scoop of my Trader Joe’s Bran Flakes (100 calories people) and some unsweetened almond milk.  Nope, not today.  I had to go around to a bunch of businesses today at my lunch hour to drop off business cards for My Battle Buddy Fitness.  So many amazing looking food items: egg rolls, bento boxes, southern fried chicken.  Now that all sorts of things are off the list, I really want to eat them.  Off to home I went for lunch, and it would have been so awesome to have some brown rice at lunch with my stew, but that is off the menu as well.  It is making me crazy and it has just been ONE day!

 

I think we get conditioned, at least when it comes to food and exercise, to just DO whatever we want to do.  Putting up those boundaries feels like some sort of massive self-depravation, right?  If you don’t feel like being healthy, well, that’s ok.  I mean there are over 35% of us Americans that are obese, so you don’t completely stand out when you are carrying a few extra pounds.  And if you don’t want to exercise, well that’s ok too, apparently only 40% of us exercise on a regular basis.  In the land of the free and the home of the brave, you have the right to do whatever you want.  So if I want to eat whatever I feel like, that is ok right?

 

But it really isn’t self-depravation.  There are lots of awesome things that we enjoy that are like food that we don’t just indulge in every chance we get.  It’s not like you just run around having sex all day and all night (I mean you could, but chances are that you don’t), with or without someone else.  You go about your daily life and yes, sex is awesome when you get it, but you don’t just go at it every time you get an urge.  Same with alcohol.  Of course there are alcoholics out there, but for the good chunk of us, we don’t have a drink any old time we feel like it.  So why should food be any different?  There is a time and a place for heavily processed, high fat, high sodium, or high sugar meals.  But that is every once in a while, a long while.

 

So for those of you feeling like it is a struggle today, as you are trying to change your unhealthy habits and what you really want to do is grab that _______________ (fill in the blank: ice cream, chocolate, fried food, chips), I hear you.  It is not easy.  We are an instant gratification society.  We want, no, we demand immediate results.  But I know that on the flip side of this experiment, I am going to look just a little bit leaner.  And I am going to feel a whole lot better.  It’ll be worth it, and more importantly, I am worth it.

One thought on “Instant Gratification…Worth it? Nope!

  1. Whitney says:

    Well crap. Looks like you hit it spot on. Self discipline and immediate gratification are not the best of friends…

Leave a Reply

Inspired by the Bike

From the shop at Bicyclette.com

TJ Hoban

Official T.J. Hoban blog

The Dolce Vita Diaries

Stories and Recipes from an Italian olive grove

LeadWise Solutions

Making health and wellness a way of life for our American military and their families

Summer Tomato

Healthy Eating Tips

Positively Balanced: Blog

Making health and wellness a way of life for our American military and their families

Making health and wellness a way of life for our American military and their families

Live fit, healthy & happy!

a motivational fitness and health blog for happy gals!

Nika Getting Fit

A Weight Loss Journey In Progress.

